Jens Olof Lasthein wins the Leica Oskar Barnack Award 2010

by valrac4_a3kqdy

Two photographers were selected from among 1700 entrants from 79 countries to be the winners of the Leica Oskar Barnack Award 2010 and the Newcomer award 2010. The first prize went to Swedish photographer Jens Olof Lasthein for his award-winning portfolio entitled Waiting for the future —pictures from Abkhazia, which tells the story of the people of the Republic of Abkhazia in the Southern Caucasus. The photographer says, “For me, it is much more important that my pictures capture visual insights into life in all its facets than to simply record the bare facts. To capture life as far as possible in all its complexity and diversity —so that my pictures tell their own, sweeping and varied stories.” Lasthein receives a €5000 cash prize or equally valued Leica equipment. Germany-based photographer Andy Spyra won the Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award 2010 for his portfolio Kashmir depicting the border region of Kashmir, which is situated between India and Pakistan and is one of the world’s most intensely militarized zones. His prize is valued at €2500.

Related Articles