Prix Pictet 2010

by valrac4_a3kqdy

Last week, the Prix Pictet Photography Prize announced the 12 photographers selected for the 2010 shortlist. The contest, which received over 450 nominations, awards a grand prize of CHF100,000 (approx. CAD$103,000) to the photographer who best tackles social and environmental issues. Now in it’s third year, the Prix Pictet presents the theme Growth.

The 2010 shortlisted photographers are: Christian Als, Edward Burtynsky, Stéphane Couturier, Mitch Epstein, Chris Jordan, Yeondoo Jung, Vera Lutter, Nyaba Leon Ouedraogo, Taryn Simon, Thomas Struth, Guy Tillim and Michael Wolf.

March 17, 2011 marks the date of the high-profile ceremony which will announce the winner of the Prix Pictet. The winner of the first Prix Pictet was Benoit Aquin whose work focused on the issue of Water, and last year the prize went to Nadav Kander, whose work on Earth was awarded.

Related Articles