Aimia | AGO Photography Prize Long List

by valrac4_a3kqdy

TORONTO, April 16, 2014 /CNW Telbec/ – Today the Aimia | AGO Photography Prize, Canada’s leading contemporary photography award, announced its most diverse long list to date, as submitted by a group of international nominators. The list, which features 23 exceptional artists, marks the first time artists from all six continents have been represented. The $50,000 CAD purse is awarded by public vote and honours living artists whose work in photography and video over the past five years has shown extraordinary potential. A group of 13 curators, artists and scholars, themselves international experts in photography, have each nominated two artists for the Prize — one from their home countries or regions of expertise and one internationally.

The Aimia | AGO Photography Prize long list includes:
— Takashi Arai (Japan);
— Raymond Boisjoly (Haida Nation, Canada);
— Rodrigo Braga (Brazil);
— Elina Brotherus (Finland) ;
— Talia Chetrit (U.S.);
— Robyn Cumming (Canada);
— Chris Curreri (Canada);
— Pradeep Dalal (India);
— Lucas Foglia (USA);
— David Hartt (Canada);
— Jean-Paul Kelly (Canada);
— Meiro Koizumi (Japan);
— Owen Kydd (Canada);
— Elad Lassry (Israel) ;
— Angelica Mesiti (Australia);
— Sabelo Mlangeni (South Africa);
— Nandipha Mntambo (South Africa);
— Lisa Oppenheim (U.S.);
— Anna Ostoya (Poland);
— Birthe Piontek (Germany);
— Andrea Robbins & Max Becher (U.S. + Germany); and
— Martin Weber (Chile).

“I’m delighted by the scope and breadth of this year’s long list,” says Matthew Teitelbaum, Director and CEO of the AGO. “These 23 artists represent the leading edge of photo-based work across six continents, offering a truly global snapshot of photography today. I congratulate all of the nominees, and celebrate them as innovative, boundary-pushing artists.”

“We’re proud to partner with the AGO for the seventh year to continue to foster artistic development here in Canada and around the world,” says Vince Timpano, President and CEO of Aimia in Canada. “On behalf of Aimia, I would like to congratulate each of these talented and inspiring artists on their well-deserved nominations. We also recognize the contribution of the nominators, and thank them for sharing their thoughtful selections of the most impactful work being done at this time in the field of contemporary photography.”

The nominators for the 2014 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize are:
— Grant Arnold, writer, educator and Audain Curator of British Columbia Art, Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver;
— Veronica Cordeiro, curator, Centro de Fotografía de Montevideo, Uruguay;
— Moyra Davey, artist and nominee for the 2010 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize (then called the Grange Prize);
— Jon Davies, associate curator, Oakville Galleries;
— Gary Dufour, adjunct associate professor, University of Western Australia;
— Tamar Garb, Durning Lawrence Professor in the History of Art, University College, London, U.K.;
— Gauri Gill, photographer and winner of the 2011 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize (then called the Grange Prize);
— Marie-Josée Jean, director, VOX Contemporary Image Centre, Montreal;
— Mami Kataoka, chief curator, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo;
— Jonathan Shaughnessy, associate curator, Contemporary Art, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa;
— Brian Sholis, associate curator of Photography at the Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati;
— Kim Simon, writer and curator, Gallery TPW, Toronto; and
— Beatrix Ruf, director/curator, Kunsthalle Zürich, Zurich.

A jury of three experts–headed by Sophie Hackett, associate curator of photography at the Art Gallery of Ontario and including Nigerian-born curator, writer and scholar Okwui Enwezor and American artist Laurie Simmons–will select a short list of four artists, including at least one Canadian artist. These artists will receive a fully funded six-week residency in Canada and their work will be exhibited at the AGO beginning Sept. 3, 2014. The winner will be selected by public vote inside the exhibition and online at, with online voting beginning Aug. 13, 2014. The winner, who will be announced on Oct. 29, 2014, receives $50,000 CAD. Please watch for the short list announcement on Aug. 13 2014.

Related Articles