Scotiabank Photography Award Longlist Announced

by Photo Life

Act of Recovery (Part I), Nouakchott, Mauritania, 2016, by Dawit L. Petros (Montréal, Québec) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

The 11 artists on the longlist for the 8th annual Scotiabank Photography Award have been announced. This award is the largest peer-nominated and peer-reviewed award for Canadian contemporary photography. The shortlist will be released in March, and the winner will be named on May 8. The winner will receive a $50,000 prize, a solo Primary Exhibition at the Ryerson Image Centre during the 2019 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, and a book published and distributed by Steidl. The two finalists will each receive $10,000.

The 2018 longlisted artists include:

Moyra Davey, Toronto, Ontario, and New York, New York;
Rosalie Favell, Ottawa, Ontario;
Pascal Grandmaison, Montréal, Québec;
Thaddeus Holownia, Jolicure, New Brunswick;
Sarah Anne Johnson, Winnipeg, Manitoba;
Shelagh Keeley, Toronto, Ontario;
David McMillan, Winnipeg, Manitoba;
Dawit L. Petros, Montréal, Québec;
Greg Staats, Toronto, Ontario;
Althea Thauberger, North Vancouver, British Columbia; and,
Stephen Waddell, Vancouver, British Columbia.

The nominators include:
Claude Baillargeon, Associate Professor of Art History, Oakland University, Rochester, Michigan;
Julie Crooks, Assistant Curator, Photography, Art Gallery of Ontario;
Sarah Fillmore, Chief Curator & Deputy Director, Programs, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, Halifax & Yarmouth, Nova Scotia;
Sandra Guimarães, Director of Programs & Chief Curator, Remai Modern, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan;
Jaimie Isaac, Curator, Indigenous and Contemporary Art, Winnipeg Art Gallery, Winnipeg, Manitoba;
Luce Lebart, Director, Canadian Photography Institute of the National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa, Ontario;
Philip Monk, Former Director, Art Gallery of York University, Toronto, Ontario;
Brian Sholis, Executive Director, Gallery TPW, Toronto, Ontario;
Gaëtane Verna, Director, Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, Toronto, Ontario;
Meeka Walsh, Critic, Writer & Curator, Editor, Border Crossings, Winnipeg, Manitoba; and,
Scott Watson, Director, Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, Head & Professor, Art History, Visual Art & Theory, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia.

Last year’s winner was Shelley Niro; her work will be on view at Ryerson Image Centre in May during this year’s Scotiabank CONTACT Festival.

Subway Writers (detail), 2011 / 2014, by Moyra Davey (Toronto, Ontario, and New York, New York) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Canadian Ranger Kelly, Chesterfield Inlet, 2017, by Rosalie Favell (Ottawa, Ontario) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Hoping the Light Will Save Us 02, 2008, by Pascal Grandmaison (Montréal, Québec) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Jolicure Pond, Jolicure NB, 1998, by Thaddeus Holownia (Jolicure, New Brunswick) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Purple River, 2017, by Sarah Anne Johnson (Winnipeg, Manitoba) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Kisanganizaire, 1987, by Shelagh Keeley (Toronto, Ontario) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Rehabilitation Pool, Children’s Hospital, Pripyat, 1998, by David McMillan (Winnipeg, Manitoba) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Mona Stonefish, 1994-1999, by Greg Staats (Toronto, Ontario) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

A Memory Lasts Forever, 2005, by Althea Thauberger (North Vancouver, British Columbia) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Installation View, Collector and The Showroom, 2016, by Stephen Waddell (Vancouver, British Columbia) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Related Articles